-->

– by Joseph Jammer Medina

Join Jace this week as he reviews all the comic book news from this years Comic-Con International show in San Diego! Show notes below!

SDCC Comic News

  1. Top Cow
    1. Top Cow 25th Anniversary Panel round up https://www.newsarama.com/35556-sdcc-2017-top-cow-25th-anniversary.html
    2. New series from Zack Kaplan https://www.newsarama.com/35559-aliens-mean-business-in-image-s-port-of-earth.html
  2. DC Comics
    1. True Identity of Mr Oz – https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/20/true-identity-mr-oz-superman/
    2. Titans and Teen Titans to merge? https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/20/titans-teen-titans-merge-2018/
    3. Blue Beetle the first Rebirth title to be canceled? https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/19/eighteen-months-blue-beetle-first-dc-rebirth-comic-cancelled/
    4. DC Masterclass Artist on the Metal books for 3 books only? https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/20/dc-masterclass-artists-dark-matter/
    5. Joelle Jones on Batman –  http://batman-news.com/2017/07/23/joelle-jones-joins-batman-creative-team-this-fall/
    6. Didio and Lee: Meet the Publishers – http://www.comicsbeat.com/sdcc-17-dc-meet-the-publishers-panel-live-blog/  
    7. Grant Morrison Crashes DC Publishers Panel – http://www.dccomics.com/blog/2017/07/20/sdcc-comics-superstar-grant-morrison-crashes-dc%E2%80%99s-%E2%80%9Cmeet-the-publishers%E2%80%9D-panel
    8. Jim Lee announces new “Evergreen” Line at DC – https://moviepilot.com/p/sdcc-2017-dc-comics-comic-book-industry-collapse/4327814
    9. DC has discussed Marvel Unlimited type service – https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/20/dc-marvel-unlimited-style-subscription/  https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/03/06/dc-comics-planning-digital-subscription-with-amazon-prime-and-everything-changes/
    10. Milestone 2.0 still alive at DC? https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/20/lee-milestone-relaunch-earth-m-codified/ http://insidepulse.com/2017/07/20/sdcc-2017-dc-comics-spoilers-dc-comics-expected-to-rebirth-milestone-comics/
    11. Geoff Johns Spotlight panel – https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/21/geoff-johns-talks-process-tricks-trade-sdcc/
    12. Geoff Johns Spotlight Panel attempts to answer classic question – http://www.ign.com/articles/2017/07/20/sdcc-geoff-johns-on-how-doomsday-clock-will-change-the-dc-universe
    13. Young Animal to crossover with DCU – http://www.dccomics.com/blog/2017/07/21/sdcc-dc%E2%80%99s-young-animal-meets-the-dc-universe-in-special-crossover-annuals
    14. Six of seven Twisted Batmen revealed from Dark Nights: Metal https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/21/first-good-look-at-six-of-seven-twisted-batman-from-dc-dark-nights-metal/
    15. Dark Nights Metal Panel Recap https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/21/metal-dark-matter-dark-multiverse/
    16. DC SVP thinks no one ordered enough Metal #1 https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/21/dc-retailers-metal-1-ordered-enough/
    17. Jeff Lemire back at DC with Hawkman One Shot and The Terrifcs https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/21/breaking-jeff-lemire-writing-hawkman-found-bryan-hitch-kevin-nowlan-dcmetal/
    18. DC Comics and those pesky renumberings https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/25/dan-didio-dc-comics-acknowledging-legacy-numbering/
    19. Dark Matter Titles Summary Plus The Signal – https://geekfinityarchive.wordpress.com/2017/04/20/updated-dc-comics-launches-five-new-titles-out-of-their-summer-dark-nights-metal-event/ https://geek-finity.com/2017/07/21/sdcc-jeff-lemire-returns-to-dc-comics-with-fantastic-four-like-the-terrifics/ http://www.cbr.com/dc-comics-duke-thomas-ongoing-series/
  3. Image Comics
    1. Final League of Extraordinary Gentlemen Volume – https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/20/tempest-alan-moore-kevin-oneills-league-of-extraordinary-gentlemen/
    2. Robert Kirkman has an idea for a cool ending to the Walk Dead https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/21/robert-kirkman-end-walking-dead-comic/
  4. Valiant
    1. Valiant reboots website https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/27/valiant-reboots-website-free-1-issues/
    2. Valiant’s Blind Bag exclusive Retailer Variants https://graphicpolicy.com/2017/07/05/sdcc-2017-valiant-previews-2017s-biggest-releases-with-exclusive-blind-bagged-retailer-editions/
  5. Marvel Comics
    1. Runaways Returns – https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/20/runaways-appears-marvel-previews/
    2. Gail Simone wants to write Spider-Man and receives Inkpot Award at SDCC – https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/20/gail-simone-surprised-inkpot-award/
    3. Thanos gets new creative team in Marvel legacy –  http://www.cbr.com/sdcc-thanos-series-in-the-works-from-donny-cates-geoff-shaw/
    4. New X-Men series examines the history of the team – http://screenrant.com/marvel-x-men-grand-design-comic-mutant-history-sdcc/
    5. Marvel Finally releases Iron Fists – http://www.cbr.com/marvel-comixology-immortal-iron-fists/
    6. Marvel’s Next Big Thing panel chock full of news – https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/20/sdcc-marvel-next-big-thing/
    7. Marvel to advertise Generations on TV – https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/20/marvel-comics-generations-series-tv/
    8. First look at Marvel Legacy https://www.newsarama.com/35153-marvel-legacy-1-first-look.html
    9. Marvel returns Cancelled Comics for one more issue http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/marvel-reviving-6-canceled-comic-series-long-overdue-final-issues-1024259  
    10. Waid and Samnee on Captain America http://www.cbr.com/waid-samnee-captain-america-695/
    11. New Thanos OGN First in a trilogy https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/21/new-thanos-original-graphic-novel-by-jim-starlin-and-alan-davis/  https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/28/thanos-the-infinity-siblings-trilogy/
    12. Kieron Gillen and Salvador Larroca on Star Wars monthly http://screenrant.com/star-wars-comics-kieron-gillen-salvador-larocca/
    13. New Hulk and Thor team up coming https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/25/marvel-thor-hulk-comic-jeremy-whitley-simone-buanfantino/
    14. Peter Parker Spectacular Spider-Man #297 has character going back to his roots https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/25/peter-parker-spectacular-spider-man-takes-him-back-to-being-an-outlaw-297/
    15. The Last Inhuman by Al Ewing https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/25/inhuman-royals-return-2018-marvel-legacy/
    16. Sam Wilson returns to the skies http://www.cbr.com/marvel-legacy-sam-wilson-returns-as-falcon/  
  6. Dark Horse
    1. Berger books first wave announced https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/21/dark-horse-berger-books-new-titles/
  7. IDW
    1. TMNT/Ghostbusters gets sequel – https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/20/tmntghostbusters-comic-gets-sequel-november-crossover-toys-target-stores/
    2. Visionaries to return at IDW https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/20/hasbros-visionaries-return-comics-idw-magdalene-visaggio-fico-ossio/isionaries
    3. Details of Shelly Bond’s new IDW imprint Black Crown https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/21/black-crown-shelly-bond-idw-imprint/
    4. Tini Howard and Gilbert Hernandez Assassinistas – https://www.pastemagazine.com/articles/2017/07/the-biggest-comic-news-from-san-diego-comic-con-20.html
  8. LionForge
    1. Astonisher to Debut in October along with the return of Noble https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/19/astonisher-noble-catalyst-prime-october/
  9. Titan Comics
    1. New Sherlock Manga – https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/20/moffat-vertue-sherlock-holmes-manga/

Don’t forget to share this post on your Facebook wall and with your Twitter followers! Just hit the buttons on the top of this page. 

Joseph Jammer Medina is an author, podcaster, and editor-in-chief of LRM. A graduate of Chapman University's Dodge College of Film and Television, Jammer's always had a craving for stories. From movies, television, and web content to books, anime, and manga, he's always been something of a story junkie.