The Eighth Film In The Saw Franchise Gets A Name And Logo

It’s been about 13 years since the first installment of the Saw films hit the big screen. The film was based on a story by James Wan and Leigh Whannell, and it was also directed by Wan. It starred Cary Elwes, Danny Glover, Monica Potter and Tobin Bell. Overall, it grossed over $100 million dollars worldwide, and because of it’s low budget it was very profitable. One remarkable note about the film was that it was shot in 18 days. The overall success of the the film with audiences allowed the studios to go ahead with a sequel. To this day they have continued to make the films the latest one being Saw 3D, which was directed by Kevin Greutert.

Now the eighth film in the franchise from Lionsgate has an official title: Jigsaw. The announcement came via Twitter on the official Saw page. You can see the image of the logo above. The title for the film was previously rumored to be Saw: Legacy, but we see that they have decided to go with the title of the mastermind behind all of the horror, the series’ main villain who is played by Tobin Bell. Besides Bell, the film will also star Laura Vandervoort and Hannah Anderson.

As far as the production team for the film, it will be directed by Peter and Michael Sprierig. The script was done by Josh Stolberg and Pete Goldfinger. As of now the film is in post production, and has a release date of October 27 of this year.

I was a big fan of the first film by Wan, enjoyed the series up to the third or fourth film and then lost interest. At the time it was something I hadn’t seen in a horror film that got my attention. Like every sequel, this film promises to take things to “another level”. I look forward to seeing a trailer and getting more information about the plot line of the film. Are you a fan of the Saw franchise? If so what is your favorite, or least favorite?

Jigsaw will hit theaters October 27, 2017.


Don’t forget to share this post on your Facebook wall and with your Twitter followers!

Source: Twitter

Night Terror Banner   GenreVerse FOR FANBOYS, BY FANBOYS Have you checked out LRM Online’s official podcasts and videos on The Genreverse Podcast Network? Available on YouTube and all your favorite podcast apps, This multimedia empire includes The Daily CoGBreaking Geek Radio: The Podcast, GeekScholars Movie News, Anime-Versal Review Podcast, and our Star Wars dedicated podcast The Cantina. Check it out by listening on all your favorite podcast apps, or watching on YouTube! Subscribe on: Apple PodcastsSpotify |  SoundCloud | Stitcher | Google Play
Share the Post:

Join Our Newsletter

LRMonline header logo

LRM and the GenreVerse Podcast Network is your one stop spot for all your film, tv, video game, geek needs.

© 2023 All Rights Reserved.