The Comics Stash I Great Titles To Get In August 2021

Welcome back to my monthly column, The Comics Stash. If you are new, it is the books that I feel are worth checking out and adding to your collection for the month. Normally, I base my picks on the artist, the author, or the events the story circles around. I hope you enjoy the picks, and hope you made some of the same! I know this post may be a week off and missed the first week of August. Sorry for that, but like so many others in the world I have COVID, and was not feeling well enough to write. Please take care of yourself out there. Do what you feel is right to protect yourself and your loved ones. Now, let’s check out this month’s picks!

August 4, 2021

Starting off August’s edition of The Comics Stash is from DC Comics. The following title release is Batman #111 by James Tynion IV. Art is by Richardo Lopez Ortiz and Jorge Jimenez. The story telling and the art is perfect for this Batman tale. 

Next, DC’s The Nice House on the Lake #3 is by James Tynion IV with art by Alvaro Martinez Bueno. This story is a real treat! I hope you are not missing out on this great story. The Joker Presents: A Puzzlebox #1 is by Matthew Rosenberg with art by Joshua Hixon. A fun new story where the Joker knows how a new corpse and magic box connect. 

The Immortal Hulk #49 is out from Marvel Comics. Just one more in this series until they start a new Hulk run.  The comic is by Al Ewing with art by Joe Bennett and Belardino Brabo. This run is fun with a ton of twist and turns. I am looking forward to the last issue on how they tie it all up. 

A new Ghost Rider run is starting this week as well from Marvel. Spirits of Vengeance: Spirit Rider #1 is by Taboo and B. Earl with art by Paul Davidson. This run will focus on Kushala as she is the Ghost Rider and will come to the add of Jonny Blaze as well in this series.

From Image Comics a book that I have been looking forward to is, The Me You Love in the Dark#1. It is by Skottie Young with art by Jorge Corona. This is a dark story with a little bit of a love story. I have been looking forward to this because of the talent putting it together.  

Scout Comics has a new release, We Don’t Kill Spiders#1. The story is by and art is by Joseph Schmalke. This should be a great read for those that like the Viking Age and a murder mystery along with witchcraft.

Ablaze Comics release, Porcelain #1 with story and art by Maria Llovet. A creepy story about a house that hunts children and turns them into dolls. We follow a girl named Beryl who must try to overcome the house so she does not become a new doll.

August 11, 2021

Next in the Comic Stash, Marvel’s Daredevil #33 by Chip Zdarsky with art by Marco Checchetto. Having Elektra as Daredevil is fun and does not feel like they forced this on the reader.

For fans of the Tim Burton’s Batman comes a new comic, Batman ’89 #1 by Sam Hamm with art by Joe Quinones. 

From Aftershock Comics comes Bunny Mask #3 by Paul Tobin with art by Andrea Mutti. This is one of the books I look forward to each month. The story is great and leaves the reader wanting more when the book is over! 

The big story for this week is Free Comic Book Day!! This will start Saturday, August 14, so check out your local shops for free books, sales, and other events they have. It’s been a while since they could do this and hope you’re looking forward to it as most comic fans are. 

August 18, 2021

DC’s Batman / Catwoman #6 is by Tom King and art by Clay Mann. I guess with Tom King doing so many books, that might be the reason why this one took a while to find its release. But it should be worth the wait as we see how the relationship between Catwoman and her daughter grows after Catowman kills the Joker.

From Image Comics comes Nocterra #6 by Scott Snyder with art by Tomeu Morey. If you are not reading this book, you are missing out on a great story along with great artwork. This is another one of my favorite titles that I look forward to each month. The future is dark and finding a light source is what will keep you alive. There is an amazing story as we find out more about how the future became so dark and what they must do to survive it.

Another great book for your comics stash from Image is Radiant Black #7 by Kyle Higgins with art by Marcello Costa. This story telling is on point because you think you know what the character is about, or the story seems to be going in one direction.  However, we then move in another direction along with characters not being what they seem. We now have more than one Radiant person with powers. It will be interesting to see them work together to fight and save Earth.

From Boom! Studios comes, Eat the Rich #1 by Sarah Gailey with art by Pius Bak. This story for your comic stash is a horror psychological thriller from the mind of Hugo Award-winning author Sarah Gailey. It is said to be perfect for fans of Stillwater and Nailbiter

Marvel’s Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters #3 is by Charles Soule and art by Luke Ross. We follow Boba Fett has he is trying to complete his mission of bringing Han Solo to Jabba the Hutt. But with other bounty hunters on the hunt for the prize, and Darth Vader as well, makes it a great adventure to read. 

Next, Aftershock Comics’ new title is, God of Tremors #1 by Peter Milligan with art by Piotr Kowalski. This comic company likes to bring titles that are not the norm for comics, and I enjoy what they produce. In this story it said to be the 19th century gothic horror of exorcism along with demonic worship and epilepsy. The story is about a kid named Aubrey who has a seizure and his father, a priest, thinks by exorcism he can make them stop. It is definitely an interesting addition to your comics stash.

August 25, 2021

The additions for your comics stash that come out on August 25 begin with Marvel’s Alien #6 is by Phillip Kennedy Johnson with art by Salvador Larroca. This is a fun take by this creative team. Though it does start off as the same run away or die, they still manage to be telling a different tale. It is a great story and the artist can design the Alpha Alien anyway he wants, resulting in a very awesome Alien

Also from Marvel is Black Widow #10 by Kelly Thompson with art by Elena Casagrande. This series is the best run for Black Widow because the writer and artist seem to be so in sync with the story telling. We get more of what is behind the person that is Black Widow, and this is also #50 in the Legacy Issues

For the die-hard fans of Spawn comes a new series from Image Comics with the title King Spawn #1. It is by Sean Lewis with art by Philip Tan, Stephen Segovia, Marcio Takara, Brett Booth, Javier Fernandez, and Todd McFarlane doing some art and writing as well. 

In addition, Image Comics also has Vinyl #3 by Doug Wagner and art by Dave Stewart. This is a blood bath of a comic as we follow serial killer Walter as he tries to save a retired FBI agent, who he considers his best friend. Although, the story is bloody and not for children. Also, Walter gets help from other serial killers to aid in the rescue.

ALSO SEE: The Comics Stash I Great Titles To Get In July 2021

These are my Comics Stash picks for this month! Again, sorry I am a week off. With me being positive for Covid it made it hard to get up and about. I hope you do stop by your local shop on August 14. It is Free Comic Book Day so see what deals they have going on at the shop. As always thank you for stopping by and checking out my column. Please check our site for other great columns, news, and videos!  

Continue the LRM Online conversation on Discord by CLICKING HERE!

----- GenreVerse Have you checked out LRM Online’s official podcast feed yet The Genreverse Podcast Network? This includes our premiere podcast The Daily CoGBreaking Geek Radio: The Podcast, GeekScholars Movie News, Nerd Flix & Chill, Marvel Multiverse Mondays, Anime-Versal Review Podcast, and our Star Wars dedicated podcast The Cantina. Check it out by listening below. It's also available on all your favorite podcast apps! Subscribe on: Apple PodcastsSpotify |  SoundCloud | Stitcher | Google Play Grow Generation

jay bradshaw

Read Previous

Iman Vellani On Playing Kamala Khan In Ms. Marvel

Read Next

Marvel’s Animated Plans Will Blow Your Mind Says What If…? Producer

This website is using Google Analytics. Please click here if you want to opt-out. Click here to opt-out.