LRMonline GenreVerse

The Winners At The 71st Annual Directors Guild Awards

This past Saturday was the 71st annual Directors Guild Awards, which was held at the Hollywood & Highland Center’s Dolby Ballroom in Hollywood, CA. Hosted by actress Aisha Tyler in front of an audience of 1,500, the gala honored directors in different media fields throughout the industry. Roma director Alfonso Cuaron took home the top prize while the FX Networks were honored with the DGA Diversity award for their “commitment to, and leadership in, inclusive hiring in DGA-covered categories – and for the example they set for the rest of the industry.” Here is the entire list of the evening’s big winners.

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film – Alfonso Cuaron, Roma.

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in First-Time Feature Film – Bo Burnham, Eighth Grade.

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Dramatic Series – Adam McKay, Succession, “Celebration”.

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Comedy Series –  Bill Hader, Barry, “Chapter 1: Make Your Mark.”

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Movies for Television and Limited Series – Ben Stiller, Escape At Dannemora

Related – The Winners Of The 25th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Regularly Scheduled Programming – Don Roy King, Saturday Night Live“Adam Driver; Kanye West.”

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Variety/Talk/News/Sports (Specials) – Louis J. Horvitz, The 60th Grammy Awards.

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Reality Programs – Russell Norman, The Final Table, “Japan.”

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Children’s Programs – Jack Jameson, Sesame Street, “When You Wish Upon a Pickle; Sesame Street Special.”

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Commercials – Spike Jonze.

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentary – Tim Wardle, Three Identical Strangers.

Lifetime Achievement & Service Award Recipients:
Don Mischer – Lifetime Achievement Award in Television (Television Direction).
Kathleen McGill – Frank capra Achievement Award (Assistant Director or Unit Production).
Mimi Deaton – Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award (Associate Director or Stage Manager).
FX Networks (accepted by CEO John Landgraf) – DGA Diversity Award.

The 91st annual Academy Awards will broadcast live on Sunday, February 24th at 5pm PST on ABC.

Don’t forget to share this post on your Facebook wall and with your Twitter followers! Just hit the buttons on the top of this page!


Night Terror Banner   GenreVerse FOR FANBOYS, BY FANBOYS Have you checked out LRM Online’s official podcasts and videos on The Genreverse Podcast Network? Available on YouTube and all your favorite podcast apps, This multimedia empire includes The Daily CoGBreaking Geek Radio: The Podcast, GeekScholars Movie News, Anime-Versal Review Podcast, and our Star Wars dedicated podcast The Cantina. Check it out by listening on all your favorite podcast apps, or watching on YouTube! Subscribe on: Apple PodcastsSpotify |  SoundCloud | Stitcher | Google Play
Share the Post: